Posted in Uncategorized

Movie Night – Movie Suggestions & Homemade PopCorn

So, I know I have not been active since July, but that is because I have had a couple of things to sort out including my course. Now that it’s September, it means it’s going to start getting colder, which I love. I love this time of year for many reasons including the cold weather and the fact all the tv shows start again. Usually, colder weather and the sun going down earlier mean people spend more time inside, then I thought about my favorite things to do on those nights. Now I am more of a Tv show person than a movie person but this post could easily apply to those who prefer tv shows over movies or books over TV. ( I will list some of my favourite shows and Books at the bottom, in case you would prefer to do all of these for a night of tv shows or book reading instead of movie night).

Movie nights are great, whether that is with your family, friends, partner, or yourself and is great for a sleepover or date. You could even dedicate a night a week or month were you and your family or friends get together and have a Movie night/ family night/sleepover.

download (1) download (3) download

Firstly, I get the room ready, whether that is your bedroom or the living room. I put pillows around ( for comfort or those scary parts of movies, so you can hide behind them). I also get some fleece blankets so people can get comfy and snuggle, into a blanket. I also close the blinds and try and make it as dark as I can, and maybe put some candles on for a little bit of light.

Secondly, snacks. I know I get my inspiration from them Gilmore Girls when thinking about what food to have each movie night. I eat too much and go to bed sick, I could literally be Rory on Movie nights.

Here is a list of snacks and drinks, I would usually have on a movie night( You can lower the amount of each item if it’s just you, or increase it, if more people are coming to your movie night);

  • Maltesers
  • Crisp
  • PopCorn ( see below for my two recipes)
  • Pretzels
  • Haribo or other jelly sweets
  • Chocolate buttons or bite-size chocolate bars
  • Cans or Bottles ( you can get cute cups and straws) of juice like Coke
  • Wine or Beer ( if you are old enough and want to make the movie night a little more mature).
  • Mini sausage rolls
  • Cocktail sausages
  • Cupcakes or mini Cheesecakes ( bite size cheesecakes are cute and easy to make)
  • Cookies ( you can buy these fresh at shops like asda or you could make them)
  • Flapjacks ( again you can make these or buy them fresh. TIP; buy/make bite size ones)
  • Icecream

Link to my Rainbow Cupcakes – https://lifeasshan.wordpress.com/category/cooking-with-shan/

Link to PopCorn Tubs on Amazon ( for under £2) – http://www.amazon.co.uk/8-x-popcorn-party-boxes/dp/B00481YRZ6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1441024683&sr=8-1&keywords=popcorn+tubs

Links to Movie Night Items:

HollyWood Clapper Board –  http://www.amazon.co.uk/fitTek-21084SMF-B-Hollywood-Wooden-Clapper/dp/B001GJ1L7A/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1441024861&sr=8-1&keywords=Movie+Night

Hollywood Star Snack Tray – http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hollywood-Movie-Night-Theme-Party/dp/B00LI12R60/ref=sr_1_16?ie=UTF8&qid=1441025075&sr=8-16&keywords=Movie+Night

Movie Night Themed Confetti (These are my favourite)-http://www.amazon.co.uk/kitchen/dp/B001GJ7OXK/ref=pd_bxgy_201_text_y

If you want to go a little over the top, or it is for a party, this red carpet is great -http://www.amazon.co.uk/Carpet-Hollywood-Scene-Setter-Runner/dp/B00382QV0U/ref=pd_bxgy_201_text_y

                                                                        PopCorn Recipes

Recipe One: Toffee PopCorn       Serves; 3-4

You will need –

  • 60ml of corn oil or vegetable oil
  • 200g popping Corn
  • 100g Butter
  • 100g Soft Brown Sugar
  • 140ml Golden Syrup or Honey
  1. Pour the oil into a pan and turn heat on, add the popping corn and cover with a lid or plate, it will take a couple of minutes for the kernels to start popping, when the sound slows down, take them off the heat and wait a minute.
  2. In a separate pan, add the butter and stir until melted. Add the sugar and wait for it to dissolve. Add the Golden Syrup/Honey and leave to simmer for 2 minutes, mixing every 30 seconds.
  3. Pour the PopCorn into a large bowl and add the toffee mixture. Stir until the toffee mixture covers all the popcorn.
  4. Pour the popcorn mix onto a flat surface ( like a baking tray) and flatten the corn so there is no popcorn heaped on top of each other.
  5. Leave in the fridge for an hour, take out the popcorn and break it up slightly and place into a bowl. ( you can put popcorn in separate bowls for each person or have one big one, you could also put them in zip lock bags or ‘popcorn tubs’ you find on the internet).

Recipe two: Sweet Popcorn

what you’ll need

  • 60ml Oil
  • 200g popping corn
  • 50g sugar
  1. Pour the oil into a pan and turn heat on, add the popping corn and cover with a lid or plate, it will take a couple of minutes for the kernels to start popping, when the sound slows down, take them off the heat and wait a minute.
  2. Pour the sugar over the popcorn and use a spoon to mix the sugar around to get every popping corn.
  3. Place in a large bowl, or smaller ones. You can also buy popcorn tubs online on amazon, or use zip lock bags

You can store you popcorn in containers for up to 3 days. You can also increase and decrease the amounts in these recipes if you want more or less.
Also…

If you want to have a little more fun with your movie night – for instance if it is a sleepover, then you could get a little crafty and make some decor for the night.

You could:

  • Draw or print off movie symbols
  • Make Banners with the words ‘Movie Night’ or the name of your favourite movie
  • You could print off or write down your favourite movie quotes on poster paper

Another little fun thing you can do, if it is a movie night/ sleepover is get all you friends to pick their favourite movie and have them make a questionnaire based on the movie, so after you have watched the movie you could question them on the movie and see how much they know.

                                                            My Movie Suggestions 

 Here is a list of my favourite movies, I have tried to put a range of different types of movies below. So there are some for all ages.

  • The Breakfast Club
  • Ice Age
  • Lilo & Stitch
  • Dude, Where’s my car?
  • Clueless
  • 21 & 22 Jump Street
  • Shrek
  • Alice In Wonderland
  • The Fault in Our Stars
  • Cheaper By The Dozen 1 & 2
  • A Series Of Unfortunate Events
  • Pretty In Pink
  • Ferris Bueller’s Day Off

If you’re like me and prefer a tv show binge marathon night instead of a movie night, then here is a list of shows i like to binge watch (I know, I know. I have a problem).

  • Melissa & Joey
  • Law & Order: SVU
  • Once Upon A Time
  • Friends
  • Revenge
  • Gilmore Girls ( they had to get a mention, I mean come on, I’m pretty sure they was the ones who made ‘movie night’ so popular)
  • The Middle
  • Pretty Little Liars
  • The Secret Circle
  • New Girl

If you prefer to read then I suggest the secret circle. I read each book within 2 weeks, but I am an obsessive reader, once I start reading a book, I can’t stop until it’s finished.

So, these are my ideas on how to have an amazing movie night – that may be a little over the top for a movie night, but I do it the Gilmore girls way. I hope this post helped you in some way.

Shannon x

Author:

I am a 19-year-old blogger from the UK. I have always enjoyed expressing my feeling, so having a blog allows me to that.

Leave a Reply

