Posted in MyStorys

What I’ve Learn’t From Being The Oldest Sibling.

I am the oldest of my 5 siblings and It’s kind of confusing. I have 3 brothers and 2 sisters. I live with 2 of my brothers who are my mum’s and my stepdads. My other brother lives near by with his mum, he shares the same dad as me. And my 2 sisters live about 2 hours away with their mum, they also have the same dad as me. Yep! Confusing. Anyhow, as the oldest sister I have learnt alot. I currently have a 13 year old & a 11 year old & a 9 year old brother and a 6 year old & a 4 year old sister. I have definitely learnt a lot by being an older sister, I thought I’d share my thoughts on what i have learnt.

 

You find yourself using all the same phases your parents did on you, while babysitting them or when you are in charge.

‘because I said so’ and ‘clean your mess up’ ‘no, not today’ & ‘calm down/be good’ are  some I use a lot.

 

You get mistaken for their parents.

Okay, maybe not if there is only a couple years between you two. But I have 2 sisters that I have a 10-12 year gap with and when i take them out alone, I get looks of those old woman who are clearly judging you because they think you’re a teenager with a kid. Well I’m not she’s my sister! I was once asked what was the name of my daughter and i was like… hold up, I don’t have a daughter!

 

You have to give up things you like sometimes.

The harsh truth is, you may not be their parents but forget your lay in on Saturday because mum told them to come wake you up to make their breakfast. And you might have to forget going out later too, got to babysit.  With my sisters mainly, I end up playing with beads instead of talking to my friends or I end up having to watch Frozen when there is a new episode of Pretty Little Liars on! They can be pains sometimes, I have begun to hate Frozen!

 

It makes you realise you don’t ever want kids or you don’t want them for years and years.

After spending a whole day watching your 6 and 4 year old sisters , will make you not want kids for the next ten years. Not because they’re naughty all day but because they are 10x more active than you, and are always wanting to do something new every 5 minutes. You end the day lying on the couch, so tired but also relieved they’re not actually you’re kids, and you can go back to watching t.v in bed again tomorrow.. arhh the life without children. I want children, don’t get me wrong, but God I am glad I don’t right now! 5 siblings is a enough for now, thankyou!

You feel a new kind of love.

They may not be my children, but I protect them and love them like they are. I am and will always be there for them, no matter what goes on in the family. They can be a friend and a sibling. I love all 5 of my brothers and sisters and although sometimes they annoy me, tire me out and make me scream, I would do anything for them and I will always be there for them.

Author:

I am a 18-year-old blogger from the UK. I have always enjoyed expressing my feeling, so having a blog allows me to that.

Leave a Reply

